• Tue. Jun 25th, 2024

Solid Coaches Association and Swim League Philippines Host an Unforgettable Event at Bulacan Sports Complex


Dec 3, 2023

By Coach Emer Matienzo
December 3, 2023

In a dazzling display of skill, determination, and sportsmanship, the 2nd Holiday Swim Cup unfolded at the Bulacan Sports Complex in Sta. Isabel, Malolos, Bulacan on December 2, 2023. Hosted by the Solid Coaches Association of the Philippines and Swim League Philippines, this swimming extravaganza showcased the prowess of over 250 swimmers from Central Luzon, Rizal Province, Metro Manila, and Southern Tagalog.

The Bulacan Sports Complex, boasting a 10-lane 50-meter pool and an additional warm-down pool, provided the perfect backdrop for the event. Leading sponsors Yingfa Philippines, Splash N Dash Sports, and Nik & Jay Kitchenette added to the grandeur of the competition.
Gracing the event was Swim League Philippines President Fred Ancheta, who not only visited but also served as the meet announcer. He was accompanied by SLP Executive Director Philbert Papa and SLP National Director for Coaches Training Enhancement & Development, Region 4A Director, Hans Rafael Villareal Sumalde.
The competition kicked off at 8:00 am with an opening remark from Solid Coaches Association President Ronald Nicdao. The morning session featured Novice or Class D swimmers, with swimmers breaching the cut-off time moving up to Class C. The afternoon session, catering to faster swimmers (Class A, B, and C), commenced at 1:00 pm.

Surprise visitors from the Inter School Academic and Athletic League (ISAAL Philippines) – Dr. Dennis G. Balquiedera, Mr. Mark Gregore, and Ms. Ana Cokie G. Hernando – explored potential collaborations with Swim League Philippines for future competitions.

The competition culminated in a nail-biting finish, with the top teams tallying points across all classes. Bulacan Water Dragons Swim Club emerged as the champion, followed by Body & Mind Swim Club as the 1st Runner-Up, Vikings Swim Team as the 2nd Runner-Up, and the Thresher Sharks Swim Club securing the 3rd Runner-Up position.

Officiated by SLP resident referee Mr. Marvin Villa and technical officials under Coach Ronald Nicdao, the Best Swimmers in the Class ABC Divisions were Abigail Nerine Villaflor, Vin Derrick Ricohermoso, Ruiey Joy Kalila Florendo, Luis Alonzo De Jesus, Rica Jane Ansale, Yzac Valencia, Maria Felisha Celso, Enzo Gabriel Zabariaga, Gerald Esquivel, Franz Guilbert Padsoyan, and Ace Michael Bigornia.

The 2nd Holiday Swim Cup not only celebrated the spirit of competition but also laid the groundwork for potential collaborations, marking it as a monumental event in the world of swimming in the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!