• Wed. May 22nd, 2024

Electoral Committee Releases Guidelines for Fair and Democratic Aquatics Elections


Apr 19, 2023

by Coach Emer Matienzo

The Electoral Committee has released a set of rules in the interest of bringing transparency, fairness, and democracy to the sport of Aquatics. According to the new rules, all clubs, whether new or old, must register their clubs via the Electoral Committee’s email, philaquatics.elecom2023@gmail.com. The registration must include the name of the club, membership roster, contact number, address, club representative, and region to which they belong. The requirement for active membership has been suspended due to the pandemic’s difficulty in compliance. Club membership shall now be based on participation in the National Qualifying event in New Clark City, except for member clubs of the Philippine Swimming Inc., who shall be automatically considered. The Electoral Committee shall validate the clubs that did not participate in the National Qualifiers.

Regional Representatives and Sectoral Representatives shall be chosen through a nomination process during their respective meetings, which will be conducted online. The members of each region or sector shall nominate their representatives, and the chosen representative shall nominate a member for the board and vote in the National Congress.

The Board of Trustees shall be composed of 11 members from various sectors. Ten members shall be elected from the Geographical regions. The regions are as follows: NCR, 1, 2, 3, CAR, 4-A, 4-B, 5, 6, 7, 8, CARAGA, ARMM while one shall be a representative of the sectoral organizations, including diving, open water swimming, water polo, and artistic swimming.

The Electoral Committee will issue a final list of candidates for the Board of Trustees via publication on social media and the POC website. The National Congress shall be conducted by the Electoral Committee and will conduct the election for the sets of the Board. The results shall be forwarded to the World Aquatics. The election is set on June 15, 2023.
Kindly visit the link below for more information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!